the pinkest of cheeks

There is a blush product in my, ahem, large makeup stash that is so good that my desire to hail its praises to the world literally was one of the reasons why I felt I had to start a beauty blog. That’s a quite a statement! But I stand by it. I introduce to you: BECCA Beach Tint, a “water-resistant colour for cheeks and lips”.

DSC_0130

BECCA is an Australian brand that isn’t all that popular in Canada. I’d heard of them from British blogs; their Skin Perfector is often the most talked-about product.  When I saw a BECCA counter at the Sephora in Toronto’s Eaton Centre, I zero-ed in on the Beach Tint, snapping up the colour Dragonfruit, which is described as “poppy pink”. As you can see from the swatch below, it’s quite opaque and pigmented.

BECCA beach tint swatch

I am a lover of blush, but not a lover of the fact that it essentially disappears from my cheeks within hours of application. Blush is never, ever still on my cheeks at the end of the day. I’ve come to accept it, though it doesn’t make me happy. But Beach Tint to the rescue! This stuff has seriously impressive staying-power.

beach tintYou only need the tiniest, tiniest amount of product because it is quite pigmented. I use a synthetic brush (usually either a Real Techniques Contour or Stippling brush) to apply it on the apples of my cheeks.   If you aren’t comfortable with strong colours, this product can be a bit intimidating at first, but the “less is more” mantra will help you through your first few applications.  Start with a little bit and you can add more to build up to your desired intensity.  It blends quite well though, sheering out a bit on the skin with some buffing. And once it’s on, it will last all day! I especially like to use this product for long work days or special occasions when I don’t want to have to worry about touch-ups and want to keep that glowing pink cheek look all day and night.   I will admit that I’ve only used this on my lips once, even though it’s sold as a cheek and lip product; it was semi-drying, which is always to be expected with these types of products, but the colour shade and payoff was lovely. Top it with some gloss and you’re good to go! But really I think this product shines most as a blush.

BECCA Beach Tint comes in 8 shades and is $30 – since you only need the smallest amount, this will last you forever! My colour-shy friends, take a deep breath and try this out – I don’t think you’ll regret it.

4 thoughts on “the pinkest of cheeks

Leave a Reply

