mascara mondays and Rimmel scandaleyes retro glam

In honour of the blog’s namesake, I’m going to devote Mondays to reviewing mascaras.  I generally have at least five on the go at any time, and my favourites vary constantly. I am a huge believer in the huge impact a few coats of mascara can make on your overall look – it wakes you up, brightens your face, and can add some serious drama with minimal effort!

I like to go big with mascara. I’ll build up my lashes, coat after coat, until my lashes are really thick, voluminous, and stand out against even my darkest, smokiest eyes.  In terms of mascara formula, what I’m looking for can best be described as “spiky lashes”.  This may be weird, but I’m not a fan of soft, fluttery, natural-feeling lashes. I have an embarrassing habit of touching my eyelashes a lot, and I love it when they feel really spiky and dramatic – almost hard. I know this isn’t for everybody, but the good news is that if you’re after more natural lashes, you can achieve this with almost every brand and formula – just limit it to one coat and you’re set!

The first mascara Monday is devoted to Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam. Rimmel is generally my favourite drugstore mascara brand so I had a feeling I wouldn’t be disappointed when purchasing.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Galm

Rimmel describes this as a “bold, wide-eyed false lash look” and I agree that you can really build this up to get super thick, dramatic lashes. The brush is made of natural bristles and has a curved, hour-glass shape, tapered at the top and thicker at the base. I have this in 003 Extreme Black and it’s a standard, nice black colour, with no grey undertones that you sometimes find. The picture below was taken at the end of the work day, after I’ve worn this mascara for about 10 hours. My lashes are still looking quite full! DSC_0100

This mascara gives you really full, thick, lengthened lashes. But one of the best things about it is that it builds really well.  On initial application, if you wait about 30 seconds – 1 minute between coats, the next coat kind of grips on to your previous coat to build thickness and keeps getting your lashes fuller.  I am specifying this because when you do this with some mascaras, I find that you’re almost just moving around the first coat, instead of building on it and thickening your lashes.

This also builds really well hours later after it’s dry. You know when you want to spruce up your makeup after work or school for evening, without removing it all and starting from scratch? One of the best ways I find there is to do this quickly is to add more mascara, to revive your lashes if they’ve “fallen” during the day or are just a bit less dramatic than when you left the house that morning.  This mascara should be your go-to for this! The formula is wet enough that it totally builds up even on pre mascara’ed lashes.  Take a look at the photo below – I added 1-2 coats after taking the picture above. They totally thickened and voluminized! I’m very impressed. And in case you’re wondering – they’re very spiky!

DSC_0107My final verdict on Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam is:

  • formula: 8/10
  • brush: 7/10
  • overall look: 9/10

Check those lashes! You have tried this or any of the other Rimmel Scandaleyes formulas?

DSC_0117

 

3 thoughts on “mascara mondays and Rimmel scandaleyes retro glam

Leave a Reply

