some british beauty goodies

I find it impossible not to have product-envy when reading blogs from ladies overseas, and every time someone I know goes to the UK, I always have a shopping list for them.  Recently, my family who lives outside London came for a visit, and since I had plenty of notice, I had lots of time to do research and compile a list. Behold: my recent british beauty goodies.

british beauty goodies

Here’s what I got:

Barry M Hi shine Gel effect nail paint in Elderberry and Coconut: 

Two awesome colours. Elderberry is very close in colour to Essie’s Borrowed and Blue, which I also love, and Coconut is a lovely off-white/cream shade.  I do find the formula a bit thick and hard to work with, but as a nail polish addict, I’ll put up with sub-par formulas if the colours are worth it.   Take the term “gel effect” with a grain of salt because this definitely does not mimic gel polish, though it does have a nice shiny finish.

Good Things 5 Minute Facial Mask:

A classic clay mask, free from questionable ingredients like parabens, sodium laureth sulfates, and mineral oil. It also smells delicious, which I’m guessing they want you to think is due to the avocado and goji berry extracts, but there is fragrance in the formula. Regardless, I quite like this as a standard mask, to use once or twice a week.

Rimmel Sun Shimmer Instant Tan BB Skin Perfector in Light Matte

Now that’s a mouthful! Unfortunately we don’t get Rimmel body products in Canada so I was excited to try this, as Rimmel is one of my favourite drugstore brands. I’ve only swatched this so far, but I look forward to using it on my arms and legs once my summer tan fades away in the coming weeks (sadness!). This isn’t a self tanner, but rather a tinted body cream that washes off.  For a fake tanning rookie like me, this means that mistakes can be washed right off!

Tanya Burr Lip Gloss in Aurora and Chic 

I was most excited for these, as I love Tanya Burr and there was a lot of hype and positive reviews about her new line of lip glosses. As promised, these are extremely pigmented and have a lovely, non-sticky formula.  As you can see from the swatch below, Aurora is an opaque, slightly cool-toned pink, and Chic is an almost peachy nude. I definitely want more of these!

Tanya Burr Lip Gloss

Sleek Contour Kit in Light 

Such a handy compact – this has a bronzer, highlighter and blush, cased in a slim black case with a large mirror. This would be ideal for traveling! I think the shades are pretty universally flattering, and I especially love the blush shade.  Sleek Face Contour Kit

What products do you lust after that you can’t get at home? And more importantly, what should I add to my next UK shopping list?!

 

9 thoughts on “some british beauty goodies

      1. Canada and America have products I so badly want to try too. We could arrange it at some point and I’ll send you the stuff you want and a few more. We are having such a good drug store make up revival atm with MUA and Sleek

        Like

Leave a Reply

