when you need to look presentable in 5 minutes

As much as I love my daily routine of putting on my whole face of makeup, sometimes I just don’t have the time or energy, or sometimes it’s just truly not necessary (grocery shopping on the weekends, I’m looking at you!).   But, on these occasions I still don’t want to go out bare-faced – I need a little help to make myself look like a presentable human. Here’s where a 5-minute face comes in handy. This is also useful for those of you who don’t wear a lot of makeup, especially on a daily basis, and are looking for a little “introduction” into polishing things up a bit, face-wise.  The goal: minimal products, simple techniques, radiant and fresh-faced!

the dreaded “before”

Step 1: Base

If you have good skin, you might be able to skip this step, but a lot of us need a little help to get a nice, even base. Skip the full foundation because it can take a few minutes just to really buff it in. Instead, opt for something lighter like a tinted moisturizer or BB cream. If I’m feeling especially lazy, I’ll actually just use a light-weight concealer and buff it around all the parts of my face that need some coverage – under my eyes, around my nose, and my chin. Make sure it’s a light, creamy concealer though, that blends well, otherwise it might not blend out well and could be very visible.

Some of my picks: Stila Stay All Day 10-in-1 HD Illuminating Beauty Balm, Olay BB Cream Skin Perfecting Tinted Moisturizer, and Cover Girl Ready Set Gorgeous concealer.

Step 1B – Eyebrows

Skip this step if you have full, even brows that don’t need filling in. Personally my dinky, pathetic eyebrows need all the help they can get to look fuller and also to stay in place.  Use whatever you normally use – whether a pencil, powder, or gel. My picks: MAC eyeshadow in Omega or Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz.DSC_0015

Step 2: Brighten those eyes

Putting a swipe of a pale, shimmery shadow or cream across your lids says “I put effort into this” – with minimal effort required! Cream shadows are perfect because they are so quick to apply, almost foolproof, and last a really long time. Stick to champagne or pale golden colours for a universally flattering look. I like the MAC paint pot in Bare Study or Maybelline Colour Tattoo 24hr eyeshadows in Bold Gold. You can even use your fingers to apply – just keep the colour on your lids and don’t go too high up to your brow bone. If you don’t have cream products, not to worry – an eyeshadow works just fine.DSC_0019

Step 3: Mascara 

You know I love full lashes! A few swipes of mascara will open your eyes and make you look more awake. When I’m in a rush, I use my best, most voluminous mascaras, because I can get nice full lashes with just one or two coats – I don’t have to worry about messing around with drying between layers, building it up, etc.  I love my Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam for this, but your fave mascara will do the trick.

DSC_0030

Step 4: Blush

A pop of pink on your cheeks pulls the look together, and shows that you made just a tiny bit more effort than the slick-of-mascara-and-out-the-door dash. Peach shades look good on everyone, and are neutral enough that you can apply it quickly and not worry about weird pink streaks. Smile to reveal the apples of your cheeks, apply a light dusting on blush on the roundest, and you’re done! Right now I’m really liking the Julep Glow Pore Minimizing Blush in Pink Bellini.

DSC_0036

Step 5: Lips

A quick swipe of gloss or tinted balm completes the look, and can be done while running out the door! I love creamy lip products because they feel comfortable on your lips, so they’re easier to wear, and usually aren’t too pigmented so you can get away without using a mirror. The Revlon Lip Butters are incredible – such a huge shade selection, great colours and they feel like a creamy balm. I love the shade Juicy Papaya for a light, slightly coral shade. If you want to go more glam, Dior Addict LipGlow is a “self-adjusting” balm that goes on clear but develops a lovely pink colour as you wear it.

And that’s it – 5 steps, 5 products, 5 minutes! What do you think of my finished “look”?

2 thoughts on “when you need to look presentable in 5 minutes

  1. Enjoying your blog! Needed a new lipstick, so I tried the Revlon Lip Butter, I really like it. My next purchase will be Dior Addict LipGlow. All the best, Mary

    Like

Leave a Reply

