transitioning into fall

Living in a climate with four distinct seasons, as the end of one season nears I always find myself anxiously looking forward to the next. So even though summer will always remain my favourite season, and I will continue wearing my sandals until the bitter end, I am getting ready to welcome fall into my life. And I wouldn’t be a makeup addict if I wasn’t already planning what swaps I’ll be making to my makeup rotation.

fall swap #1: darker lips

Is it sad that I’m truly excited to finally being able to dust off my deeper, berry-toned lipsticks? Summer is all about the corals and pinky-peaches with the occasional hot pink thrown in, but one of my favourite looks is deep, dark lips. Sometimes I find myself absent-mindedly reapplying them until my lips are coated in the deepest hue and are stained until the next morning…and I love it. If something this bold isn’t your thing, go lightly by applying one light coat from the tube and patting it in with your finger to soften it out and make it more wearable. My absolutely faves are Mac’s Rebel and Diva, and I’m awaiting the days until it is appropriate to wear my newest acquisition, the Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss Lipstick in 107.

Fall Lipsticks

 

fall swap #2: warmer cheeks

In the past few months, I’ve been rocking bronzer and pretty pink shades of cream or powder blushes. While I certainly won’t deviate too far from this come fall, now is the time to warm things up. I’m going to swap my cool-toned, pale pinks and wear warmer, deeper shades of blush, like Mac Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul and Sleek blush in Pomegranate. On my wish list: a warmer-toned cream or liquid blush. Any suggestions?

Fall Blush

fall swap #3: darker eyes 

I love a full-on smoky eye look, and I ain’t afraid to wear it! But in the past few months I’ve been trying to go for a less heavy look, focusing the shadow on my eyelids and skipping the swipe of under-eye liner and shadow. I feel like in the summer, makeup just gets lighter, less intense, more natural. But as soon as the temp drops, I’m going back to my eyeliners and intensifying things. My favourite liner is Mac eye pencil in Coffee,  a brown that’s as dark as you can get without it being black. I’m also loving Julep’s Gel Eye Glider in Smoky Taupe Shimmer, and I’m looking forward to re-discovering my Clinique Cream Shaper for Eyes in Egyptian, which I’ve had for a long time but haven’t given it the attention it deserves.

Eyeliners

I can’t wait to switch up my makeup for fall, but… I wouldn’t mind another few weeks of summer first. Please?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

