mascara mondays: Maybelline volum’ express one by one

Another drugstore mascara today! But I can never resist a drugstore mascara; of all the different types of makeup, I find that mascaras from the drugstore can really hold their own against the higher-end brands.

I’ve had the Maybelline Volum’ Express One by One mascara for some time, but it took me a while to really give it any consideration. Pretty quickly I dismissed it as one of those “natural” mascara, and reserved it for weekend days when I wasn’t really doing much. But after really evaluating it, I have to say it’s pretty good.

Maybelline Volum' Express One by One

Why did I dismiss this? One reason: the spiky factor. This one just does not have any spikiness going on with the formula, and if you remember from my first mascara Monday, I love my spiky lashes.  Spiky factor aside though, this really can build up pretty voluminous lashes. If you’re looking for nice full lashes but want to keep them feeling soft and natural feeling, this one’s your guy.  The brush is plastic and is your standard shape, and the plastic bristles do a pretty good job of separating the lashes, so they don’t get clumpy.

Volum' Express One by One

 

DSC_0066

formula: 6/10 (had to dock a mark for lack of spikiness! Them’s the rules ’round here)

brush: 7/10

overall look: 7/10

 

Leave a Reply

