the taupe pencils

I love cream shadows in stick pencil form – quick and easy to use, usually good longevity, and they provide a great base for eyeshadow to boot. I also love taupey, bronzy colours – super-flattering, neutral shades that can be worn for both daytime and night. I recently examined my collection of cream pencils and realized with a shock that I have five very similar shades of taupe-bronzy goodness. How many is too many? As any makeup addict will tell you, you can never have too many. I love them all!

Taupe Shadow Pencils

Now these aren’t exactly identical in shades, and you can especially tell the difference when swatching them. Regardless, I think they’re similar and I use these all in the same way. I draw them roughly all over my lid and blend them out with my finger or a small synthetic brush to give a nice even wash of colour all over my lids. I also sometimes add a darker shades onto the outer corner of my eyes for some additional definition to do a super quick smoky eye. These are all also great bases for eyeshadow and give them some added dimension.

From top to bottom we have:

  • Cover Girl Flamed Out Shadow Pencil in 350 Melted Caramel Flame – nice creamy cool-toned taupe shade
  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in 617 Iced Mocha – this runs much darker than the Cover Girl version and looks great worn on its own. It creases very slightly, but with such a great price ($5.99) you can’t go wrong
  • Make Up For Ever Aqua Shadow in 20E – absolutely incredible staying power, once this is on, it’s on till you want it off. This is a warmer-toned option that looks almost like a deep rose gold in some light
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Shadow Pencil in Rehab – definitely the darkest of the bunch and looks great as a liner or on the outer corner of the lids. I’d describe this as a cool-toned bronze
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Shadow Pencil in Juju – Rehab’s lighter counterpart.  Really, really good staying power and it blends beautifully.

On days when you can’t be bothered to fuss with brushes and eyeshadows, or if you’re not fully comfortable with them, shadow pencils are such a great option.  Draw on, smudge out, done!

What’s your favourite shadow pencil?

 

6 thoughts on “the taupe pencils

  1. I’m a big fan of the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils. I have them in Iced Mocha, French Fries, Sparkle Leopard, Cottage Cheese & Milk (which works great as a shadow base).

    FYI, just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Instructions are in my latest post. 🙂

    Like

    1. thank you so much you’re so sweet!! Unfortunately I recently had an accident and just got out of the hospital, and so my blog is on a bit of a hiatus while I recover, but I’ll be back soon and will nominate others!

      Like

  2. I really love your blog, your posts are all so beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

