the easiest eyes…ever

I’m back! Kind of. My right arm, which is my dominant hand, is still in a sling, but I’m doing much better. I’ll probably still be a sling for a few weeks at least, but I was missing makeup so much that I am starting to find ways to slap it on my face with my left hand. (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, see here). I’m not one of those semi-ambidextrous people who is pretty good at using their non-dominant hand, so this is going to be quite a learning process!

I emerged from my recovery hibernation a few times this week and wanted to actually put some effort into my appearance. Since my accident and hospitalization, I would categorize a “good day” as when I wash my face in the morning and evening…and that did not happen every day. So the idea of busting out some very simple makeup and looking like a presentable human was an exciting one. Only problem: my left hand is useless! I was determined to face this challenge head-on.  And so I present to you: a quick eye makeup look that is so easy I literally did it with my left hand! Anybody can replicate this, even if you think you have no makeup skills and zero confidence. Let’s get started!

Quick and easy eye makeup
The finished look

You’ll only need two products: a soft eyeliner pencil and mascara.  My picks: Annabelle Stay Sharp Self Sharpening Waterproof Kohl Eyeliner, L’Oreal Silkissime eyeliner, and Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil. All of these pencils have a soft, creamy formula that is really easy to blend.

Start by drawing a line along the outer third of your top lash line. Don’t worry about being too precise with drawing it on, because next you’re going to smudge it out quite a bit using your ring or pinky finger (or you can use a small synthetic brush). Smudge it both along the lash line and upwards a little bit into the crease.  You can do this as many times as you want until you’re happy with the colour payoff. I do this about 2-3 times. After you’re happy with all your smudging, draw a final line along the outer third once more and this time, leave it as-is, don’t smudge it out. I also like to tight-line my upper lash line.

soft, easy eyeliner

Next, do the same along the outer third of your lower lash line. Draw on pencil, smudgy smudge with your finger, repeat. I like to keep the colour at its darkest at the outer corner so that it’s not too heavy on the inner corners, because this isn’t an intense eye look. Apply a few coats of volumizing mascara and you’re done!

soft, easy eyeliner

I think this look is a great opportunity to play with coloured eyeliners instead of the usual black or brown. You won’t be putting on any eyeshadow so it’s a good chance to really let your eyeliner stand out. In these pictures, the green shade I used is Annabelle Stay Sharp in Forest, and the purple is L’Oreal Silkissime in Plum.

And that’s it – an eye makeup look so easy, it can be done with your non-dominant hand!

 

 

3 thoughts on “the easiest eyes…ever

Leave a Reply

