tips for ladies with bangs

I have had bangs for probably, ten years. When you’re in the mid-twenties, ten years is basically almost half your life, especially if you don’t consider the bald baby period, which I am not. So realistically, I’ve had bangs since I started really making my own decisions about my appearance! There was maybe an 8-month stint a few years ago when I let them grow out, but I don’t like to think about that. Have I proved to you yet that I am an “expert” in dealing with bangs?

Unfortunately bangs can be pretty high-maintenance. They need special attention while blow-drying, and they are the first part of your hair to remind you that you need to wash your hair.  I try not to wash my hair every day, so over the years I’ve developed a few tips to keep my bangs in tip-top shape…ish.

tip #1: blotting pads

Sometimes I refer to my bangs as the grease curtains because they can get so lank and greasy well before the rest of my mop does. I think it’s a vicious cycle between your forehead and your bangs – as the day progresses, your forehead becomes oily because your bangs are resting on it, and then your hair gets greasy from your forehead, but wasn’t it the bangs’ fault in the first place?! Nobody knows. All I can tell you is that for the most part, my face doesn’t get too oily during the day, but that forehead? Thank goodness the bangs are completely hiding it because nobody wants to see that. Enter the humble blotting sheets. I swipe one over my forehead mid-day and I find my bangs have less oil to stick to, and will generally perk up a little bit.

tip #2: make friends with a shower cap

shower cap

I try to wash my hair every other day, but sometimes my bangs are just not having any of that, even though the rest of my hair is in good shape.  Instead of washing my whole head just to deal with my bangs, out comes the shower cap. I tuck the rest of my hair into it, leaving the bangs exposed and ready for their clean-up. It’s so simple but it makes such a difference for me.

tip #3: dry shampoo

This one’s pretty obvious, but when all-else fails, dry shampoo is your friend. I use it liberally on my bangs and really work it in with a brush. Sometimes I do have to reapply throughout the day, especially after a day at the office, but I can live with that. Now remember dry shampoo is not a miracle worker (if you need to wash your hair, wash your hair), but it can really do a lot to liven up your bangs and give the illusion that you’re super clean.

What other tips do you have for keeping your bangs in good shape?

Leave a Reply

