wedding makeup

My friend Julianne got married in August, and I offered to do her makeup for her wedding. I love doing my friends’ makeup and frequently when we go out, I’ll do everyone’s smokey eyes! I love doing it. I was a bit nervous because a bride’s makeup is so important! Those pictures will literally be around forever. The finished look is a really wearable, slightly smokey eye that would suit everyone. 

Summer wedding makeup

The beautiful bride

Julianne’s wedding makeup was fairly simple with a focus on the eyes. She wanted her eyes to be more dramatic than her regular day-to-day. We kept the skin simple and glowy, and she chose a subtle mauve lipstick that went really well with her skin tone.
wedding makeup

Eyes:
After using Urban Decay Primer Potion to prime, I applied Naked Lunch from MAC all over the lids and gently up to the brow bone, as a nice pinky neutral base. I then used Satin Taupe on the outer two thirds of the lid, with emphasis on the outer V to build that smokiness. To build up the intensity, I used Dior Mono eyeshadow in Velvet on the outer corner. Velvet is a really nice deep, cool-toned taupey brown with a slight shimmer – basically a deeper version of Satin Taupe. Using an angled brush, I worked Velvet into a slight wing and smoked it out with a blending brush. I repeated this a few times until I got the intensity and smokiness we were looking for.

On the bottom lashes, I smudged Coffee eye pencil from MAC along the lash line and apple Velvet on top. I kept the waterline bare, because while Julianne wanted a slightly dramatic look, we didn’t want it to be too dark and close off her eyes. I softly filled in her brows using Omega shadow from MAC. For her lashes, we used Julianne’s own mascara which was from Lise Watier, as well as false lashes from Ardell. Halfway through the day though, Julianne ripped them off – she doesn’t wear false lashes on the regular and they were annoying her. Can’t say I blame her!

Base:
After buffing in Julianne’s own MAC foundation, I used Kiss et Blush from YSL in the shade 2 Rose Frivole on the apples of her cheeks. This shade is a really pretty rose shade that just provided a nice natural flush of colour. Julianne is fairly pale and already had a slight tan, so I didn’t apply any bronzer. For highlight I used my favourite highlighter of all time, Dior Shimmer Powder in Amber Diamond, both along the tops of her cheek bones and in her inner eyes to make her eyes pop.

Wedding makeup - applying lipstick

Lips:
Lastly, I lined Julianne’s lips using MAC Soar liner and the lipstick she chose was Syrup from MAC, which I thought was such a nice choice – quite neutral with mauve tones that matched the eyes really nicely.

And there you have it – a slightly smokey but generally natural makeup look! It was perfect for a summer wedding, but I think it works year-round! Would you recreate this look?

Leave a Reply

