beauty swap

This fall I did a beauty swap with Gwen from Gwenllian Branwen who lives in the UK. I was so excited to do this because there are a surprising number of beauty brands that we don’t have in Canada that I’m always reading about or seeing on Youtube. Gwen’s package arrived a few weeks ago stuffed with wonderful makeup goodies!

beauty swap
How cute is all this wrapping?

We both stuck with drugstore brands for our swap and Gwen managed to get me a pretty big variety of goodies!

DSC_0007Clock from top left we have:

MUA Eyeshadow Palette in Hall of Fame – a selection of twelve of their most popular shadows. This has a great range of neutrals and I especially love the taupe shades

Barry M Super Chic Shadow & Primer Palette – featuring six shimmery shades and a primer. I especially love the beautiful purple shade on the right. Great for incorporating colour into your regular makeup look

Soap & Glory Feel Good Factor Translucent BB Cream – I am always so sad that we don’t get Soap & Glory makeup in Canada. I think it’s a bit odd to refer to a translucent product as a BB cream – isn’t one of the purposes of a BB cream to provide some sort of coverage?  In any case this is a nice moisturizer with SPF 25 that wears nicely under makeup.

Collection Intense Colour Supersoft Kohl Penvil in Black Magic – a nice creamy pencil liner with quite a creamy black formula.

 

MUA Lipsticks – from top to bottom in shades 16 Nectar, Tulip, 14 Bare and 2.  These lipsticks are insanely creamy and I can’t wait to wear the top two shades in the summer! We’ll see how good the staying power is considering how creamy they areMUA Lipstick swatches

Sleek Blush in Suede – I love Sleek blushes, they have amazing colour payoff and are really long-lasting as well. This is a very nice neutral, slightly-peach tone that I think would work well with a lot of skintones. Love!

Tanya Burr lipgloss in Chic – a lovely opaque nude gloss that smells delicious

Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascara – I was instantly impressed by the formula and brush on this. Possible mascara monday review coming soon?

Barry M Showgirl Extra Volume mascara – this is the most luxe packaging I’ve ever seen on a drugstore mascara. It’s surprisingly heavy! My initial reaction is that the formula doesn’t live up to the packaging’s amazingness, but I’ll give it a few more chances.

And there you have it – such a variety of products and many of them have made their way into my daily makeup already – my top picks are the MUA palette and the Sleek blush. So if you live in the UK, I recommend these products and if you don’t – get yourself a UK friend to haul these for you, pronto!

 

9 thoughts on “beauty swap

Leave a Reply

