mascara mondays: urban decay perversion

Urban Decay is one of my favourite brands, so when they launched a new mascara a few months ago, I just had to try it! The mascara is called Perversion, and was also initially packaged and sold with a white primer called Subversion – typical cheeky Urban Decay names!  Unfortunately, this is probably the first product from Urban Decay that I am disappointed with.

Urban Decay Perversion mascara

I love Urban Decay because I feel that they go “all out” with all their products – nice packaging, super-pigmented powders, strong colours, great staying power, etc. To me, this mascara differs from everything else because at the end of the day, I feel it’s just…basic. Aside from the packaging, which is quite heavy and luxe, there is nothing remarkable about this mascara. The brush is your standard shape with natural bristles, the formula is a nice black that’s neither too wet or too dry, and the finish is just…normal. It does a decent job at lengthening and darkening your lashes, and holds a curl OK,  but don’t expect any dramatic results in terms of volume – which is what I am always after!

Urban Decay Perversion mascara

I don’t hate this mascara – I’ve tried many that are worse – but it definitely doesn’t rank as one of my favourites (and I was kind of expecting that it would!). To me it’s just a standard, normal black mascara.  At $26 Canadian for a tube, there are so many better-priced and better-performing mascaras out there.

Urban Decay Perversion mascara

 
Final verdict:

  • Formula: 5/10
  • Brush: 7/10
  • Overall look: 6/10
Leave a Reply

