an easy winter makeup look

To me, makeup-wise, these colder months mean darker lips and warmer colours on the eyes. OK, I’m assuming that’s what they mean for almost everyone, but I really enjoy adapting my makeup to the seasons and trying new looks!  I recently picked up a beautiful cream shadow from Flower Beauty (Drew Barrymore’s makeup line!), and I can sense that this easy, warm eye makeup will become a go-to for me this winter.

Winter makeup

The star of this look is Flower Beauty’s Color Play Creme Eyeshadow in Awesome Blossom. At first I thought this was a reddish-brown shade, but it’s really just a really warm, shimmery coppery-brown shade that even pulls a bit purple when blended. The formula is really wet – it’s more of a mousse texture than Maybelline’s Color Tattoo shadows, and therefore it blends really well without tugging on your eyelids. The staying power is decent and as it wears, the shimmer really comes through. Awesome Blossom

Awesome Blossom creme eyeshadowThis look is really simple!  I started by applying Awesome Blossom all over the lid with a synthetic brush, buffing it out a little bit along the crease. I really love Real Techniques’ Base Shadow brush for this. I then used the end of the brush to apply a thin line of the cream shadow on my lower lash line. To provide some depth and counter the dreaded pink-eye effect you can get with really warm tones on the eyes, I buffed in a bit of MAC shadow in Mystery, a deep matte brown shade, to the crease. I lined my waterline with Bourjois’s Queen Attitude Khol Kajal, and applied a quick swipe of black liquid liner with my fave Stila Waterproof Liquid Liner. A few swipes of mascara, and the eyes are done!Winter makeup look

Since I wanted the focus to be on the eyes, and sometimes matching cheeks and lips with reddish shadow can be tricky, I kept the rest of the look quite neutral. For blush, I used Tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12-hour Blush in Exposed, and for lips I used my favourite “my lips but better” shade, Revlon’s lip butter in Pink Truffle, topped with a swipe of Tanya Burr Cosmetics lipgloss in Aurora.

And that’s my quick and easy winter makeup look! What do you think? What kind of makeup looks do you like to wear in the winter?  Leave me a comment below or tweet me @justaddmascara. Thanks for reading!

 

4 thoughts on “an easy winter makeup look

  1. I really do like the results …… if I would put it into words: I would say: Its *PERFECT,,, Perfect looking on a Nice/Pretty young woman….not too much & not too little,,,, & I just *Luv,, how U do your Eyes. Nice Blog!!!!! Kelly

    Like

Leave a Reply

