January favourites

Is it just me or did January fly by? I did a whole lotta beauty buying and discovering this month and have tons of favourites to share! I can even sense that some of these are definitely going to stick around long-term as firm favourites, they’re that good.
January favourites - skincare

REN Vita Mineral Omega 3 Optimum Skin Oil – I had this on my wish-list for a while. It’s a really nice facial oil that absorbs quite well into the skin, and for a semi-premium brand, it’s quite affordable at $48 CAD! I find oils/serums to always be on the higher end of the price spectrum so this is good news.

Julep Bare Face Cleansing Oil – I’ve had this for a long time but only recently started using it, and it’s a good, well-performing oil cleanser that removes all traces of makeup.  I use this as my first cleanse at night. It’s not revolutionary, but it’s good and I like it.

Lush Hot Toddy Shower Gel – This was part of their holiday collection and I snapped up two for the price of one post-Christmas. It has a warm, comforting cinnamon-clove scent that is perfect for hot showers when it’s freezing out! It has a lot of glitter in it, but thankfully it doesn’t transfer onto the skin.

Urban Decay b6 Vitamin-Infused Complexion Prep Spray – I spritz this on before applying my foundation and it absolutely helps my foundation last longer and helps it from being too shiny/oily throughout the day. It pairs really well with my Revlon whipped foundation below- these two are just a solid, solid combination for all-day-perfect skin! January 2015 makeup favourites

NYX Powder Blush in Pinky – this blush is craaaazy pigmented. Like “only touch your brush onto the colour for fear of clown cheeks” pigmented, but it’s worth it. This shade is a nice bright pink that brightens up my cheeks AND it lasts amazingly. Without a doubt this is the best drugstore powder blushes I’ve ever tried! PS – the colour is not nearly as hot pink as it seems in the photo!

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup – I picked this up on a whim and can I just say that this is AMAZING! When do random purchases ever end up being that good?!  I love love love this foundation. It provides really nice, medium buildable coverage, lasts on me for at least the whole 9-hour work day, and strikes that perfect balance between fresh and dewy without being too shiny. The only downside is the unfortunate jar packaging – it’s difficult to get the product out of the jar which makes it a bit annoying to apply. But considering how incredible the formula is, I’ll deal. I will absotively be repurchasing this.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed – well, shocker shocker, beauty bloggers of the world were right about this blush. It’s the perfect “neutral pink” colour that provides just enough colour on your cheeks, but doesn’t clash with your eyeshadow or lipstick, so it’s great when paired with a really strong eye or lip. The staying power is also really, really good. I absolutely will be getting more of these!

Maybelline Brow Drama – an impressive drugstore brow gel offering that I’ve been reaching for more and more. Full review coming soon!

Bourjois Queen Attitude Khol Kajal – I’ve never used any of these kajal liners before, with the long odd cone shape, but I’m so impressed with this! I use it on the my waterline almost every day. The formula is black but not too black so it’s good for everyday daytime, and the waxy formula really does last on my waterline – which is unheard of! Now it doesn’t last all day long, but it’s a lot better than a lot of other liners I’ve tried.

Phew – you can tell I’ve been having fun exploring new things this month! Are any of these products in your faves too? What have you been loving this month? Leave me a comment or tweet me @justaddmascara – I always love to be enabled!

Leave a Reply

