looking good after 5pm

Situation: you’ve got somewhere to go after a full work or school day. Concern: you want to look as fresh and beautiful as you did when you left the house that morning.   Issue 1: you either aren’t going home first, or will only have 5 minutes before you have to leave again.  Issue 2: you unfortunately look like you’ve been at work/school for at least 8 hours. Uh oh.

This happens to me all. the. time. No matter what fabulous products I used that morning, I definitely don’t look as good post-5PM as I did at 7:30AM, all bright and fresh-faced and glowy with perfect eyeliner. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to look that way again for my post-work activities! Lucky for you and for me (mostly for me), I’ve narrowed down the few, crucial beauty steps to take to refresh, re-set and only slightly re-do your makeup to keep your face going into the evenings and beyond!  You only need a few products so you can easily pack these essentials in a small makeup bag to throw in your purse to touch up on-the-go. DSC_0011

Step 1: complexion – You don’t have time to re-do your whole face – foundation, concealer, blush, bronzer, highlighter – so focus on touching up the areas where your foundation may have worn off, using concealer. I find that under the eyes and around the nose are usually the main culprits, and when you’ve addressed those, you automatically look more pulled together. Use a creamy formula that blends easily, because you can blend it out quicker. If you have any blemishes, re-conceal those too. If you have oily skin, add a quick dusting of translucent powder to control shininess.

Step 2:  blush – A quick swirl of blush over the apples of your cheeks will perk you up. Plus, I find blush is the first thing that wears off during the day, so when you’ve got blush on, to me it automatically signals a fresh makeup application.

Step 3: eyes– If you’re in a rush, you probably don’t have time for a smoky eye. The power of eyeliner to the rescue! Smudge a pencil along your waterline and slightly along your lower lash line for the speediest eye makeup ever. For me, dark eyes = night makeup, and you can easily achieve this with just a black or brown eyeliner. You can either use a flat shader brush to smudge the liner along your lower lash line, or just use your finger.

Step 4: mascara – Pile on two (or more!) coats of your favourite volumizing mascara for that final “put together” step for your eyes. If I only had time for one step, this would be it.

Step 5: lipstick – I generally end up doing this step in the car/while waiting for the bus! I like strong colours for evening, like a berry shade, or you definitely cannot go wrong with red. Use whatever lipstick you love!

Voila – the most efficient way to touch-up your makeup to bring your fabulousness into the evening hours!

How do you update your makeup to bring it into the evenings?

 

 

3 thoughts on “looking good after 5pm

  1. Usually about half-way through the day I just use my retractable kabuki and reblend my makeup to make it look less melted haha. For the evening, I also add another coat of mascara and a bit of eyeliner on my top and bottom lash lines and sweep a bit of matte blush on my cheekbones. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

