matte lips that are comfortable, too?!

I had a new lipstick discovery back in December and my love for them is still going strong. As I briefly raved in my December faves, the NYX Matte lipsticks are seriously, seriously amazing. Plus, since Target is one of the few places that stocks NYX and we are losing Target any day now in Canada, it’s time for me to really spread the love so that my Canadian ladies can get in on the action! NYX Matte Lipstick

I really like to wear lipstick every day – I think it really pulls a look together and adds that little extra oomph to really make you look polished. So I’m always on the lookout for new formulas that impart a good amount of pigment but that are comfortable to wear. I’ll put up with a drying, matte formula mostly more for evening, when I can compulsively re-apply so often that my lips are stained well into the next day (…please tell me I’m not the only one who does this?), but for everyday regular wear I generally prefer my lip products to be comfortable.

When I wore this lipstick for the first time, I was impressed at how pigmented and comfortable the formula was. Matte generally means drying, but this formula manages to be quite creamy AND long-wearing. I don’t get that shrivelled, raisin-lips feeling that I often get from say, the MAC matte formula. And it’s drugstore! What a feat. And when I say long-wearing, I am not joking around here. This lasted through my morning smoothie, bottle water and well into lunch. I was shocked – this is unheard of for me!

NYX Matte lipstick
From top to bottom: Summer Breeze, Angel, Bloody Mary

I have three shades in the range: Summer Breeze, Angel, and Bloody Mary.

Summer Breeze is a really bright, baby pink that would definitely be great for spring/summer. The formula does accentuate dry lips, as you can see from my photo! Be sure to exfoliate beforehand!

Summer Breeze
Summer Breeze

Angel is more of a mid-toned pink that’s a lot more wearable than Summer Breeze and is perfect for every-day wear.

DSC_0011
Angel

My favourite of the three is Bloody Mary, a beautiful red with pink undertones. I think red lips looks great on everybody and this is my top pick from the range!

NYX Matte lipstick in Bloody Mary
Bloody Mary

Have you tried NYX Matte lipsticks? Which shade is your fave? Let me know if the comments below, and thanks for reading!

 

 

8 thoughts on “matte lips that are comfortable, too?!

  1. I have one of these in the shade Eurotrash. It’s a pink brown shade. I like it, but the matte lipsticks from the Rimmel Kate Moss line (in the red tube), the new Milani matte lipsticks and the Maybelline mattes are even more comfortable. The Revlon Matte Balm lip crayons are really nice too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We don’t get Milani in Canada – I really want to try them! I like the Kate Moss ones but these just lasted so amazingly on me, I was shocked! I like the Maybelline, too, but I prefer NYX in this case. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. I need these in my life! So gorgeous and I much prefer matte lips to creamy or glossy ones – apparently the Maybelline Creamy Matte lipsticks are insane, I’ve yet to try them! Great post as always, X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

