February faves

At the beginning of this month, I did something kinda bad. Good for my makeup collection, but bad for my wallet and my sense of self-control. I basically went to Target like a MAD WOMAN and spent more money on makeup in 20 minutes flat than I ever have before, without having carefully considered all the options, read reviews, made a wish list, etc etc. Now thankfully after all that, I don’t regret any of those purchases! How rare is that? So my favourites this month are largely from that mad dash shop in Target and therefore heavily feature Pixi! It’s not intentional – it’s just that truly, these are the products I’ve been loving this month and a majority of them just happen to be from the same brand.February 2015 beauty favourites

Pixi Flawless Beauty Fluid: I actually bought this by accident! I thought this was the Flawless Beauty Primer but nope, it’s a foundation. Thankfully the shade I got works well with my skin tone! It’s a nice formula – it’s quite matte but still imparts a glow. I’ve enjoyed wearing this but I think I’ll like it even better come summertime when my skin is less dry.

Pixi All-Over Magic in No 2 Rose Radiance: A totally beautiful blush consisting of five glowy, pink shades. I swirl them all together and the colour is a beautiful pink, with enough glow that I skip wearing highlighter.

Pixi Fairy Light Solo in No 5 Boho Bronze: This is a really lovely, creamy cool-toned taupe shade – kind of like Mac’s Satin Taupe’s little sister. I’ve been wearing this over top of Sonia Kashuk Longwear Creme Shadow in No 03 Moonstone, a cream shadow with a similar cool-toned shade. The combo of these two is just beautiful and this is what I wore on my eyes for the majority of this month!

taupe swatches
top to bottom: Bobbi Brown Smokey Topaz, Sonia Kashuk Moonstone Pixi Boho Bronze

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Cream Shadow Stick in  Smokey Topaz: I think I’ve got a thing for cool taupes lately! This is very similar in shade to the two above, but definitely way more pigmented and deeper in tone. It’s very shimmery but still extremely long-wearing. I got this in a set of three minis, and I’m quite impressed by the formula. I think I’ll have to try out some other shades from this range!

Eyeko Black Magic Mascara: I got this in a Topbox a few months ago but really discovered a love for it lately. It gives great volume that lasts all day. Love!

Yves Saint Laurent Volupte Tint-in-Oil in No 6 Peach Me Love: I think this product is so innovative. It’s a really lightweight oil with a fairly sheer tint in it, but the tint is almost more of a stain that lasts for hours once the oil wears off. The tint seems very sheer at first but it’s definitely quite pigmented and long-lasting. It’s extremely comfortable to wear – there’s absolutely no stickiness from the oil. This is a great on-the-go product because it’s so easy to use but lasts for so long.  Just be careful: I really do think you need to swatch the shades before choosing one, because they appear differently on everyone (they supposedly adjust to your lips’ pH level), and the colour on the cap is not necessarily the colour you’ll get on your lips. This shade is supposed to be peach but it shows up quite pink on me. I wish they had some deeper, more dramatic tones, but for now I really like No 6 and have my eye on No 1 Drive me Copper.

BeautyBlender and BlenderCleanser Solid: I’m so late to the game with Beauty Blenders! I’ve had this for maybe six months but am definitely learning to love it lately. I like to use it damp to kind of sink in my foundation, concealers or cream blushes. I generally still use a regular brush to apply, then go over it with this to just meld it all together. Also, the solid cleanser is so good. I just got a sample size as a 100 point gift from Sephora, but I love it! For some reason it’s made me want to wash my brushes sooo much more often than I used to. I think it’s because it’s just so easy to use – no baby shampoo or cleaners to pour into dishes – you just wet your brush, swirl it on top of the little shampoo brick, and rinse. It doesn’t suds up as much as baby shampoo so I find it’s much faster to rinse and use. I love this and highly recommend it if you hate washing your brushes!

Shu Uemura Lash Curler: Yep, the hype about these lash curlers is totally justified. They just work. They don’t pinch my lashes as much as some of the others I’ve tried, and they give a beautiful curl. Nothing more to be said.

So that’s me this month. No new skincare favourites because I am still using and loving everything I talked about last month. What have you been loving this month? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

