mascara mondays: rimmel wonder’lash with argan oil

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a mascara monday! I haven’t been all too impressed with the mascaras I’ve tried out recently, but I’m definitely extremely picky. I am a huge fan of Rimmel mascara (remember the scandaleyes retro glam?) so I had high hopes for their newest offering, the Wonder’Lash Mascara with Argan Oil. Unfortunately, this one wasn’t a win for me.

Rimmel Wonder'Lash Mascara with Argan Oil

As I’ve said before, I like my mascara to deliver mega-volume and thick, full lashes. Yeah, separation and lift is nice, but it’s not the first thing I look for. I’ll take clump over separation if it means full lashes. That being said, I know many people do prefer natural, separated lashes so there’s definitely a market for these types of mascara. Wonder’Lash definitely falls into the “natural” eyelash category.

The brush is your standard plastic brush with little comb-like bristles. Rimmel refers to it as their “Ultra-Flexible Brush” but it’s pretty basic. The formula delivers fairly soft, natural-feeling lashes – definitely no “spiky” factor going on here. I can’t say I am all that surprised, considering this is supposed to be formulated with argan oil, the lashes should be on the soft side.

Rimmel Wonder'Lash mascara

The separation and definition this provides is very good. If you like length and separation, this mascara will deliver. However, I find the formula to be too dry – it’s hard to get the brush really “wet” and loaded with product so I find I need to use at least 3+ coats just to build up a good look. This is just unnecessary when you’re in a rush! 3+ coats to get false-lash effect lashes, sure, but for pretty standard ones? No thanks.

Rimmel Wonder'Lash mascara with argan oil.My final verdict is that this mascara is decent, but not great.

  • formula: 5/10
  • brush: 6/10
  • overall look: 6/10

What do you think – have you tried this mascara? What’s your fave mascara right now?

 

5 thoughts on “mascara mondays: rimmel wonder’lash with argan oil

  1. It’s interesting you found this mascara to be on the dry side. I have the waterproof version and the formula of that one is definitely on the wet side. I normally don’t like wetter mascaras, but this one I actually really like a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

