love me my shiny taupes

I feel like a broken record by raving about shimmery taupe shades lately, but what can I say, I am obsessed!  I’ve been wearing this makeup look almost every day for the past few weeks, and I just love it.  It’s super simple and quick to do in the mornings, and because I use a cream product, lasts all day. This has definitely been my go-to winter look!taupe makeup

As usual the focus is on the eyes. I start by applying Sonia Kashuk Longwear Creme Shadow in Moonstone all over my lid, blending it out with a Real Techniques base shadow brush. I also run it all along my lower lash line to provide just a touch of definition. I then use a fluffy brush to apply Pixi Fairy Light Solo in Boho Bronze on top of the creme shadow – this shadow is basically one shade deeper than the creme but in the same colour family, so it helps intensify the shimmery taupiness (that’s a word…) and really sticks to the creme for great staying power. I concentrate the shadow in the outer third, and also run it over the creme on the lower lash line.DSC_0011

Next up is eyeliner:  a line of black liquid liner (I love Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid) as well as a cat flick, and I line my upper and lower waterlines with a black pencil. A few (or 5) coats of mascara and we’re done!DSC_0010

I tend to switch up my foundation, concealer, blush and highlighter every day but in the photos above I used: Clinique Even Better foundation, MAC Select Cover-up, Joe Fresh cream blush in Rose, and Dior Shimmer Powder in Amber Diamond. Lips were Revlon Lip Butter in Juicy Papaya.

And that’s that – my current go-to makeup look! I’m so obsessed with taupe lately… what colours are you loving? Leave me a comment below!

9 thoughts on “love me my shiny taupes

Leave a Reply

