mascara monday: L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly

Hello again and happy mascara Monday!  It’s been a while, I know, but here I am again with a mascara I’m really excited to write about.

I know L’Oreal mascaras have some hype to them, but to be honest I’ve never been all that impressed. Given that I’m pretty picky when it comes to mascara, I thought they were just fine. Not bad, but not amazing. I was so excited to try the Voluminous Miss Manga, for example, but it just didn’t blow me away. But I’m so happy to have found one that I absolutely love! It’s always nice to add a great drugstore mascara to your collection, isn’t it? I truly believe mascara is one of the products that drugstore is just as good as high-end, sometimes even better.

L'Oreal Butterfly Voluminous

If you like volumizing mascaras that lift and separate your lashes, L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly mascara is your guy.  It has a plastic, asymmetrical brush, a shape I’ve never seen in mascara wands. I don’t know that the shape is much more than a gimmick, but the wand does reach every last tiny eyelash, lifting them up and coating them in product.  Apparently the formula also has “Cocoon Fibers” but this is definitely not a fibre-mascara. Regardless, it is great and very volumizing! I don’t love fibre mascaras anyway.

L'Oreal Butterfly Voluminous

Spiky factor? Pretty good! Especially if you use this as a mid-day touch-up – this layers really well, similar to Rimmel’s Scandaleyes Retro Glam. I love it when a mascara layers and builds really well, for when you want to perk up your eyes a bit at the end of the day.

L'Oreal Butterfly Voluminous

To get the thickest, biggest lashes, let this dry for a few seconds in between coats. I tend to apply a coat, then go on to concealer, apply another coat,  then blush, and so on.

L'Oreal Butterfly Voluminous

My verdict:

  • formuala: 8/10
  • brush: 7/10
  • overall look: 8/10

What’s your favourite drugstore mascara?

Leave a Reply

